Artist in residence – Canterbury

Faith Cannon, graduate in Fine Art from Canterbury, is going to be our artist in residence in the archives. Here’s her work in her own words:

Faith Cannon -BA Fine Art

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

Previous use of archives- Maidstone UCA Campus

A little about me- I have just graduated from UCA after studying part time for 6 years at Canterbury and my foundation year was at Maidstone Campus.

My artistic practice is drawn from the theory of experiential learning and the use of recycled materials which hold their own unique footprints. These connections to the past functions and history behind the materials, inspires my practice to further their existence through process and manipulation. I use varied media to create new art work; I incorporate my own past work and ideas to then create something new and contemporary.

Why I want to promote the use of the archives!

On finishing my degree I was reviewing areas that I wanted to develop my artistic practice further. I had used the archives previously in my work and collaborated with fellow artists to form an exhibition at UCA Maidstone as part of our studio work. So I decided to contact Rebekah Taylor to see if I could aid and promote the use of the archives as a resource for students at UCA. Rebekah was very enthusiastic and we came up with initial areas of focus with digitalisation of some of the archives from Canterbury past degree shows. This will allow students visual access to past artworks, presentation, curator practice, artist statements which could aid them in their own studies. We also want to promote the development of new work from these artefacts’ in a contemporary way. To do this I intend to collaborate with other artist. So watch this space!

Degree show 2015 Herbert Read Galley

Degree show 2015 Herbert Read Galley

Degree show 2015 Herbert Read Galley

Degree show 2015 Herbert Read Galley

Leave a Reply

